For the memories you made in FGC Port Harcourt.

You left Rosysteps Secondary School with just one thought in mind, “I’d definitely end up getting killed in FGC Port Harcourt”.

 

The Friday your dad bought the shiny FGC admission forms for you, you cried endlessly and tried to persuade him to let you remain in the same school. In a bid to show the severity of your despair, you had left the pot of beans cooking on the butterfly stove in your kitchen, till the contents of the pot became as darkened as your prospects of happiness. Your older siblings had told you so many nasty tales about FGC; the cult groups, the use of corporal punishment on students, the high rate of bullying, and the tendency for a top scoring student in a private school to never make top twenty within the school. Armed with entreaties from the staff and students at your private college, vehemently urging you to stay within the school, you stepped into the ‘Entrance Examinations’ hall in FGC, determined to fail your exam.

 

In Six weeks time, when the results of the examination were released, you told everyone who knew you at the time, about how your name had been among the first thirty-five slots on the merit list. You rambled endlessly about the competitiveness associated with securing admission at Federal Government Colleges, and how you were fortunate enough to be amongst the 250 selected students, out of the over 4000 students who sat the exam.

 

On the 2nd of October 2011, you marched into the four walls of FGC and felt overwhelmed by the massiveness of the building and the distance from the gate to the school’s administrative block. In your fresher’s uniform – a white oversized pencil skirt and a matching oversized shirt, which had been ironed and starched to military rigidity by your older brother- you walked briskly towards the same hall you had been to earlier on, and you soon found that it was referred to as the ‘Orientation Hall’.

 

Barely one week into your journey as an FGC student, you forgot all about your attachments to your previous school and later realized that staying behind at the school would have situated you on the precipice of impending disaster in the future. You carried on gleefully during your orientation week, in your subconsciously perfected art of being a busybody, exemplified by your volunteering to participate in every activity (as Ellena would later tell you), and this made you the first student to be assigned to a class.

 

“Class; SS1 A. House; Loyalty House. Take that pen and write your name under ‘A’, then look for your folder and place it there too”, A plump woman in a floral two piece ensemble had said to you in the Guidance and Counseling Unit of the school’s administrative block. You later found out she was called Mrs. Emordi and that she did not like female students who put on tight skirts, had more than 15 cornrows and wore colored vests.

 

After being assigned classes, you and the other ‘freshies’ were allowed to attend your first school assembly of the year. On that fateful Monday morning, a tiny girl- way shorter than you were- had asked you to “kneel down and walk on your knees”. You laughed hysterically at her command, hissed and attempted to walk away. Then a group of five other girls surrounded you, and gave you the pep talk that changed your attitude forever.

 

Senior Maryann began by saying, “ Listen, I don’t know who you are or care what school you came from, but this is FGC. Your senior’s are to be given maximum respect, even at the detriment of your comfort.”

 

The other four seniors’ then echoed her words, and threatened to beat you up. A teacher walked past the scene and stared intently at you all. You wore a sudden smirk on your face, expecting her to save you from the claws of the beasts. You later found out she was called Mrs. Ihim; that she loved fashion, that she would teach you physics for three months and that she could care less about a chubby fresher being corrected by loving seniors as it were.

 

That afternoon, you met Anwuli from your previous school at the Tuck shop. You attempted to exchange pleasantries with her, but she had refrained from excessively indulging in your stories. Her friends later told you to call her “Senior Anwuli”, and she turned a deaf ear to your pleas, when they gave you hot nylon bags with puff-puff, moi-moi and fried fish to carry to their respective classes.

 

That evening when you returned home, you told the tales of the day in the most hyperbolic way possible. You attempted to make your father see reasons with you as to why you could not continue in such an environment. Your mother threatened to report the girls to your principal, and your older brother volunteered to give them a warning on your behalf.

 

But my dear girl, when your skin started to harden above the underlying soft flesh, and the lines started to fall on your body in pleasant places, when you received the award as the best student in your class after your first test, and received that crumpled piece of paper from the handsome senior with dimples, you yourself decided that perhaps it was the place to be after all. You began to imprint your nickname on the walls in the school; cursive letters written with permanent markers, alongside the imprints of other students.

 

The terms raced by, you made your mark. You stood out. Press Club. Debate. Science. That Tuesday afternoon, when you boarded the school bus to FGC Warri for the zonal stage of the National debate, you wore your white shirt and maroon skirt proudly. When you graced the stage as the chief speaker for your team, standing firmly on the legacy senior Theresa had set before you; speaking with the authority senior Juliet had also been known for across most debate competitions, it dawned on you that you had not just passed through FGC, but you had let it pass through you.

 

With the same conviction in mind, you said before the throng of spectators in the debate hall “ It is in the limelight of my points that I have eloquently outlined, having full confidence that I have proved beyond any reasonable doubt my stand in proposition to the notion set before us, that I leave the stage for my worthy opponent. My name remains Nwokoma Chiazor Tracy, and I rest my case!” It was the FGC PH in you. You had come to love the school.

 

On the day of your prom, as you stood to give the final speech in your laced long sleeved peach dress, you highlighted all the positives about your stay in the school. The end was before you, yet it felt just like a new beginning. You ended your final public appearance with the words ‘Pro Unitate’, which means ‘for unity’. It was clear at that particular moment, that the school would forever remain a part of you.

 

*****

 

Heyyyyy loves!

Thank you for reading. I had so much fun in Secondary school, and it would take a novel’s worth of blog posts for me to tell you all about my experiences. However, feel free to share highlights of secondary school career in the comments section.

If you attended FGC Port Harcourt, I’m also excited to hear what other stories you have to tell about the school!!!

Till next time,

Chiazor. xx

31 thoughts on “For the memories you made in FGC Port Harcourt.

Add yours

  1. Bae this was good…not as intense as I expected but it brought back funny memories of “junior days”… I like it though…keep the stories coming

    Like

  2. Hmmm….. Guess I was partly formed into a ‘man’…???( Noo!! I’m not yet a man) into a boy by FGC Ph…… Don’t know if this is permitted but I’m doing it. #winks;
    I had wanted to leave my current school then a boarding school but a private missionary…. I felt the grasses were greener at the other part… It was my last year as a junior secondary student. Inasmuch as I wanted to stay where I’d be popular and eventually be the Senior Prefect or a Prefect of high standing, I had also wanted to attend a school with the tag ‘Federal’ ….
    I remember coming late to class after searching for my class…. How elated I felt being in A class in such a school… Then there were few people. Amongst whom were Favour Gogo, Nwokoma Chiazor Tracy, Olanike Okunola,Ellena Sylver Ikurusi, Nimi Young, Ibe Ogele, Chukwuka Ojukwu….. I remember Tracy and Favour Gogo then as busybodies and then Tracy, Ellena, Nike, Lois, I saw them as four big ugly girls…#chuckles. .How small they’ve become…. Found out Nike was so good….
    .
    .
    But my regrets was missing some special times like my interhouse sport in Ss3… My valedictory day…. The speech and prize which I came out 2nd. .. Hehe.. Can’t also forget when they refuse to call the best three on a C.A. I came third…. Hated everyone that day…My form master showed me the result on his manuscript trying to console me but how I wanted the glory….Hmmm!! Lemme stop here Bae….u did good tho

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Chiazor!!!!!!!!!! You’re just awesome. I’m glad you acknowledged your busybody. Lol. Although on the long run, it took you places. Girl, I can’t say much. This post brought nostalgia. My case was the opposite of yours. I couldn’t wait to leave my former school. My Dad was the owner so I felt like I was too monitored and was being forced to be an example I could care less about so I wanted to fleeeee. Lol. Like somebody cannot even default anyhow or joke randomly in class or my Dad will hear. I remember when I fought with one boy in JS1 and my Dad heard, he ordered them to make my punishment greater and boy was it? I washed like how many toilets. Wasn’t funny. Anyway that was my last fight ever till date. I guess the toilet punishment worked. Haha
    oops! Long comment. Forgive my talkativeness. Love always

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LMAO!!!! Chidinma your comment has me in bits . 😂😂😂😂. You can just default under such circumstances my dear . Lol ! I’m glad you came to Fgc afterwards though , who else would have been my companion for Mr Kingsley’s lesson ? Thank you babes

      Like

  4. But you sef, you know you have prospects of becoming a small celeb. You’re a people person. But you decided to run away to UK. Just jokes. Enjoy your UK biko

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nice one Trey, it really brought back fond memories and good times reminded me of how when I first got to fgc with hopes only to be named a target the first day and all because of my big mouth..the punishments,the running,the escapes and finally the baton of seniority, its wonderful how people come into your life and change your persperctive of things. FGC PH has given me good friends, prepared me for the journey ahead but most especially it has given me wondeful memories to last a life time..like the trip to warri for the debate competition. When I first heard you were to be on the team with me I was like “OMG,no not an A class girl they are so stuck up” but then I got to konw you and even love you when you made me laugh so hard on the road trip and how we decided to show the warri girls “levels” and how we were so pissed at the uyo girls who on the first night sang so loudly to “akwa-ibom ayaya” and how we decide to get them back by singing “shine bright like a diamond”loudly through the halls when we won the first stage of the debate, and not to forget our new friends on the trip the benin girls who changed the saying”warri no dey carry last” in my mind with their ever intriguing attitude. And on the trip to abuja when uncle ebi nearly gave us a heart attack with his driving and how the principal made us wear those “horribly ugly big skirts” to the debate and how I nearly died of stage fright..and as for your busy body I always liked it because it made me look better and less crazy..thanks trey for wonderful times. Keep the flame alive..always knew you were something what I don’t get is why science. Love you girl.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMG! Princess!!! I’m almost in tears. I can’t believe you actually remembered all that! Having you with me throughout the debate phase was the best thing ever. I remember the social night at FGC warri 😉 , story for another day. And you are high key crazzzzzy! LOl! Thank you so much of the support , and i love you too girl !!!!! 😀

      Like

  6. Let me clear my throat… the nostalgia is just overwhelming.
    Well, here’s my own side of FGC. Unlike Tracy, I prayed and almost fasted to get admitted to FGC. So the day I got the news that I was number One on the merit admission list, I ran through the streets of Onitsha, announcing the good news to anyone who cared to listen. The next day I packed a few of my stuff and hurried off to FGC Port Harcourt.

    I now realize I wasn’t the only one who was astonished by the distance from the gate to the administration block. I was left wondering if I were in a university or a secondary school.

    Then the results of the first CA was announced, and I was second, trailing in the wake of a girl called Tracy. This was the same girl whom I first got to notice in the orientation hall, and whose exuberance made me wish we’d be in the same class – and we were.
    So when she was called up as the best in the class test, my admiration for her got shot up.
    But then, I’d been taking the first position from elementary 3, and I wasn’t ready to give it up. I decided to work my way back to the top, but it wasn’t as easy as I had anticipated because the girl called Tracy knew her stuff.

    Unlike me, Tracy was good at almost everything. She was doing well in her academics, she was with the press club as well as the chief speaker in the school’s debate team. She was just everywhere – I’d say she’s ubiquitous. That’s how she got the name – Leonardo D’Tracy.

    That prom night, as she stepped out to read her speech, I was afraid she was going to trip over her long flowing gown, but she simply walked gracefully to the podium and delivered one of the most beautiful speeches I’d ever heard. Little wonder she won the prize for the most eloquent student.

    On my own part, graduating as the best student from FGC Port Harcourt was just the beginning of my achievements.

    I can’t talk about my stay in FGC without mentioning one name – Shalvah Adebayo. This guy is simply good. Were we in the same discipline, he would have been my mentor for life. Anytime anyone comes to me for academic advice, I merely reiterate the words of Shalvah.

    As for FGC, am so proud of her. Ikolodo, Udodi, Amogu, Inoma, Obidiozor and Obaze, you guys are the best. I talk about FGC at any slightest opportunity. Just last week, in school, a curious guy asked me to describe my secondary school. I simply told him it’s one of the best schools in the country.

    Let me stop here, I think my comment has got longer than the post.

    PRO UNITATE !!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Anyaogu this is by far the best thing I’ve read all month!!! Thank you so much for bringing back the additional memories. I don’t need to tell you how much you motivated me , or do I ? Nah you know that already. To be fair if I worked just a little harder we would have been a tag team … but distractions 😂. You consistently took the first position (I’m still pissed but I forgive you ) and made me realise that hard work wins ultimately.

      It was a pleasure to share this same experience with you , Oji.

      Like

  7. Lovely post. 2000 set here.
    Even in 2018, I’ve still got the nostalgic feeling.
    Seems everyone joined fgc ph from some other secondary school.
    I joined SS1G in 1996 from University of Ilorin Secondary School due to my parents being transferred to port Harcourt.
    It was quite a culture shock as the first thing I noticed while finding my way to class was some dude kissing a girl in their SS1 class in the full glare of everyone. That was quite a shocker. A few other things I recall:
    1) I also remember our set a bunch of 3-5 guys being the first set to take automobile engineering in the school.
    2) Never kept up with the school calendar as events just happened to occur win front of me without my prior knowledge yet everything fell in place… For example. I get to school some day only to find out I’ve been pencilled down to run the 400m race for my sports house (one I’d never even heard of not to talk of attending any prior meetings).
    Didn’t end well as by the 350m I could see everyone overtaking me. Lesson: never start a 400m race as if it’s a 100m race.
    3) again some sort of final football match at the inter house sports… I still don’t understand how I got into the match to play as a centre back. We are down by a goal and struggling to get back in the goal, the balls floated from the best player on the other team from the left wing. I am guilty of ball watching when their striker gets into the ball. Goal #2. Amiesimaka’s son who was quite good , Obinna asuzu were on my team.
    4) got into boarding house in final year, stayed a week and went home practically walking past the gate like every other day student without a query from the guards. Boarding was boring compared to fgc ilorin(jss1) that’s what I felt.
    5) would notice the school going downhill as I was leaving as it seemed cultism started to take a hold on the school. Didn’t notice this when I got in until my final year.

    Are there any other 2000-set members in the house? Esp SS1G.

    Like

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑